This article presents two ways of reverting a project’s workflow step, which simply means going back to the previous workflow step, in the XTM Cloud UI.
Moving the workflow progress back by selecting the red arrow button.
Understanding the difference between those actions is crucial to any project manager, as the unconscious use of either options might lead to undesirable results.
Moving the workflow progress back by selecting the red arrow button
One of the two ways to revert the workflow progress is to move the workflow progress back by selecting the red arrow button. Using the arrow buttons to moving workflow activity forward or back only changes the active workflow step and does not affect the current translation.
If the steps are assigned to an LSP and, as a Project manager on the contractor's side, you do not have a red arrow button with which to move the file back, you must ask the LSP's Project manager to change the step in the XTM workflow. If you unassign the LSP, move the workflow back and then assign this LSP again, you will lose the data that the LSP entered in the current step.
The second way to revert the workflow progress is rollback. This procedure restores a file to the state it was in at the end of the selected workflow step, removing any changes made in subsequent workflow steps and overwriting TM entries with older translations.
For these reasons, you should only use this method if you need to erase work performed in a specific workflow step and you require this work to be done again, from scratch!
If a particular file has already been closed in all workflow steps, reopened at one of the final stages, and then rolled back to a previous stage, using the rollback option, the changes from the previous iteration will also be removed (not only those from the current iteration).